God and You

Focus on what God can do, not on what you cannot do

By Don Ruhl

The basis for this article was a chart that I found at a church in Texas. No name was on the chart. I have also added my own material.

We put the emphasis upon what we can or cannot do, but the Bible puts the emphasis upon what God can do. Our part is to believe Him and to do what He says.

Listen to the some passages showing what our God can do.

Therefore Sarah laughed within herself, saying, “After I have grown old, shall I have pleasure, my lord being old also?” And the LORD said to Abraham, “Why did Sarah laugh, saying, ‘Shall I surely bear a child, since I am old?’ Is anything too hard for the LORD? At the appointed time I will return to you, according to the time of life, and Sarah shall have a son” (Ge. 18:12–14).

But He said, “The things which are impossible with men are possible with God” (Lk. 18:27).

Second Corinthians 1 has something I want you to see: In Jesus Is the Yes. God is for us, not against us. He is not all about no, but yes, “But as God is faithful, our word to you was not Yes and No. For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by us—by me, Silvanus, and Timothy—was not Yes and No, but in Him was Yes. For all the promises of God in Him are Yes, and in Him Amen, to the glory of God through us” (2Co. 1:18–20).

We have the tendency to say no, it cannot be done. God contradicts us and says yes, it can be done. Listen to what you say and contrast it with what God says.

Tired, But Rest 

You say: “I’m too tired.” Like David’s men who were so weary they could not continue in battle (1Sa. 30:10).

God says: “I will give you rest and renew your strength.”

Even the youths shall faint and be weary,
And the young men shall utterly fall,
But those who wait on the LORD
Shall renew their strength;
They shall mount up with wings like eagles,
They shall run and not be weary,
They shall walk and not faint.
(Is. 40:30, 31).

“Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For My yoke is easy and My burden is light” (Mt. 11:28–30).

Unloved, But Loved 

You say: “No one loves me.” Like the psalmist who lamented, “No one cares for my soul” (Ps. 142:4).

God says: “I love you.”

“For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life” (Jn. 3:16).

I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.  (Gal 2:20).

Weak, But Strong 

You say: “I can’t go on.” Like the people in the parable of the great supper who found reasons not to go to the great supper of their friend (Lk. 14:15–24).

God says: “My grace is sufficient for you.”

He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him;
I will be with him in trouble;
I will deliver him and honor him.
(Ps. 91:15)

And He said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me (2Co. 12:9).

Directionless, But Directed 

You say: “I can’t figure things out.” Like the Ethiopian Eunuch who did not understand Isaiah’s prophecy (Ac. 8:26–39).

God says: “I will direct your steps.”

Trust in the LORD with all your heart,
And lean not on your own understanding;
In all your ways acknowledge Him,
And He shall direct your paths.
(Pr. 3:5, 6)

Commit your works to the LORD,
And your thoughts will be established.
(Pr. 16:3)

Uncoordinated, But Coordinated 

You say: “I can’t do it.” Like the ten spies who said they could not conquer the Land of Canaan (Nu. 13:31).

God says: “You can do all things.”

“If the LORD delights in us, then He will bring us into this land and give it to us, ‘a land which flows with milk and honey’” (Nu. 14:8).

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Ph. 4:13)

Unable, But Able 

You say: “I’m not able.” Like the paralyzed man in John 5 who was not able to get into the pool by himself.

God says: “I am able.”

“Ah, Lord GOD! Behold, You have made the heavens and the earth by Your great power and outstretched arm. There is nothing too hard for You” (Je. 32:17).

And God is able to make all grace abound toward you, that you, always having all sufficiency in all things, may have an abundance for every good work (2Co. 9:8).

Rewardless, But Rewarded 

You say: “It’s not worth it.” Like Esau who thought his birthright was not worth it (He. 12:16).

God says: “It will be worth it.”

“Then the King will say to those on His right hand, ‘Come, you blessed of My Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world’” (Mt. 25:34).

For I consider that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us (Ro. 8:18).

Unforgiven, But Forgiven 

You say: “I can’t forgive myself.” Like David whose sin was always before him (Ps. 51:3).

God says: “I forgive you.”

There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit (Ro. 8:1).

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness (1Jn. 1:9).

Unimaginable, But Imaginable 

You say: “I can’t imagine…” Like the officer of King Jehoram of Israel who could not imagine that Samaria could be under siege one day and prosperous the next (2Ki. 7:1, 2).

God says: “I will supply all your needs.”

Now to Him who is able to do exceedingly abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us (Ep. 3:20).

And my God shall supply all your need according to His riches in glory by Christ Jesus (Ph. 4:19).

Fearful, But Fearless 

You say: “I’m afraid.” Like Peter walking on water, then seeing the great wind and feared and sank (Mt. 14:30).

God says: “I have not given you a spirit of fear.”

For God has not given us a spirit of fear, but of power and of love and of a sound mind (2Ti. 1:7).

There is no fear in love; but perfect love casts out fear, because fear involves torment. But he who fears has not been made perfect in love (1Jn. 4:18).

Worried, But Carefree 

You say: “I’m always worried and frustrated.” Like Martha who was worried and troubled about many things (Lk. 10:41).

God says: “Cast all your cares on Me.”

“Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things” (Mt. 6:31, 32).

cast all your care upon Him, for He cares for you (1Pe. 5:7).

Faithless, But Faithful 

You say: “I don’t have enough faith.” Like the disciples who requested of the Lord to increase their faith (Lk. 17:5).

God says: “I have given everyone a measure of a faith.”

So then faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God (Ro. 10:17).

For I say, through the grace given to me, to everyone who is among you, not to think of himself more highly than he ought to think, but to think soberly, as God has dealt to each one a measure of faith (Ro. 12:3).

Foolish, But Wise 

You say: “I’m not wise enough.” Like Solomon who lacked knowledge, wisdom, judgment, discernment, and ability (1Ki. 3:9).

God says: “I give you wisdom.”

“behold, I have done according to your words; see, I have given you a wise and understanding heart, so that there has not been anyone like you before you, nor shall any like you arise after you” (1Ki. 3:12).

If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him (Ja. 1:5).

Alone, But Comforted 

You say: “I feel all alone.” Like Paul when no one would stand with him and defend him (2Ti. 4:16).

God says: “I will never leave you nor forsake you.”

“…I am with you always, even to the end of the age.” Amen (Mt. 28:20).

Let your conduct be without covetousness; be content with such things as you have. For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you” (He. 13:5).

God is there just for you. Be there just for Him and He shall take care of you. Be there for Him by being a Christian. I conclude with this, “Now may the God of peace who brought up our Lord Jesus from the dead, that great Shepherd of the sheep, through the blood of the everlasting covenant, make you complete in every good work to do His will, working in you what is well pleasing in His sight, through Jesus Christ, to whom be glory forever and ever. Amen” (He. 13:20, 21).

5 thoughts on “God and You

  1. Don,

    About 60 years ago, before I was a bible reader, I used as my mantra “Philippians 4:13, “I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me”. It got me through tough times and ultimately led me to join a local church and start doing things right.

    Jim Burgoon

  2. Really good post. I’ve been reading posts a lot today and have had to draw out the Biblical balance on most of them. You’ve nailed it!!

    For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he: Proverbs 23:7a

    • CreationScience4Kids,

      What a wonderful thing that the God of heaven stoops down to seek a relationship with us, which makes me ask, “What is man that God is mindful of him, and the son of man that God visits him?” (See Psa 8.4).

      Thanks for your kind comment.

Leave a Reply

